How To Rhyme Multi Syllables Like Eminem

eminem is the best multi syllable rhyme scheme mc ever
so im gonna show u how to rhyme multi syllabic like eminem with help
from flocabulary and other sources.

Part I – The Basic Lesson

What are multies?

Multi is short for “multi-syllable rhyme.” Multies

are phrases in which more than one syllable rhymes.

Multies can be double, triple, quadruple (etc…)

rhymes.

Normal rhyme:

cat /

hat

Multi rhyme:

my cat /

hi-hat

 

Or a

longer multi: bit my cat /

hit the hi-hat

What’s the difference between multies and inrhymes?

In-rhymes:

Don’t be

silly cover your milli I’m like

Billy

 

Don’t be

 

dumb cover your gun I ain’t

fun

– Dizee Rascal, “Stand Up Tall”

Multies:

Punchlines that kill… my

hits’ll bury ya

,

I rap to myself on the bus like…

 

 

schizophreni

Part II – The Advanced Lesson

Ok, so you’ve worked through the basic lesson and you

want to take it further. The next thing we need to cover

is the difference between prominent (or “stressed”)

syllables and silent (or “unstressed”) syllables. It’s

the same thing that your English teacher was teaching

you when you did that Shakespeare lesson on iambic

pentameter. In this case, we’re going to use it to figure

out how to create long strings of quality multies that

flow well. The general rule is this: you have to rhyme

with the prominent syllables; you can ignore the silent

ones.

Prominent vs. Silent

The basic idea is that when you speak or rap there

are certain syllables that you stress or put emphasis

on and certain syllables that you don’t. When

analyzing poetry, you’d place an accent mark (/) over

the prominent syllables and a dash (-) over the silent

syllables.

For example, say this out loud:

Today is the first day of the rest of my life

The meter (a map of which syllables are stressed and

which are not) would be something like this:

– / – – / / – – / – – /

Today is the first day of the rest of my life.

This is a typical example because often times “little”

words (to, is, the, of) are silent. Obviously, when we’re

talking about a silent syllable, we don’t mean literally

silent. Silent just means it’s not prominent.

The simplest way of figuring out which syllables are

prominent and which are silent is just to say the line

out loud and listen to what you pronounce strongly

and what you don’t.

Why Did I just Learn that?

Because with multies it’s important to make sure

you’re rhyming with all the prominent syllables. But

you don’t have to rhyme with the silent syllables.

For example, take this line:

Behind my house is the most twisted of trees

If I want to write a multi rhyme with “twisted of

trees,” the first thing I need to do is figure out what is

prominent and what isn’t. So I’ll map it out like this:

– / – / – – / / – – /

Behind my house is the most twisted of trees

All I really have to pay attention to is the rhyming

phrase, “twisted of trees.” As you can see, the

prominent sounds are “twist” and “trees.” The silent

sounds are “ed” and “of”. That means that when I’m

writing my multi, I need to rhyme with “twist” and

“trees”, but I don’t need to rhyme with the “ed” or the

“of”.

So these work:

Mystical knee

Listen to me

Mess with the bees

Then I just pick one and write a line to it:

Behind my house is the most twisted of trees,

I always ignore the birds, but I mess with the bees

Even though “ed of” doesn’t rhyme with “with the”, it

doesn’t matter because they’re unstressed syllables. The

line still flows. Take another example from Eminem’s

verse on D12’s “My Band”. He uses the line:

/ – /

I just think you’re trying to steal the

light from

me

 

In that line “light” and “me” are accented, but “from”

isn’t. So he doesn’t worry about rhyming with “from,”

just the other words. Like this:

I just think you’re trying to steal the

light from

me,

 

Yesterday Kuniver tried to pull a

knife on me

,

‘Cuz I told him Jessica Alba’s my

 

 

wife to

be

 

What About Longer Multies?

I’m glad you asked. Some rappers (especially

underground rappers) like to string together long as

hell multies to impress their listeners. You don’t always

have to do this, but if you can drop a long-string multi

occasionally, it will hit like a sound bomb.

Take this line:

/ – / /

Always on point with words that cut sharp

If we rhymed with “sharp” it would not be a multi. If

we rhymed with “cut sharp” it

would

be a multi. Instead

of just that, let’s try rhyming with “words (that) cut

 

sharp” to make a long multi. Remember, because

 

“that” isn’t prominent, we can ignore it. We just need

 

to rhyme with

 

 

words, cut, and sharp

. I’m going to

use a lot of slant rhymes in order to make a line that

 

makes sense. Using the process of rhyme generating

 

described before we get:

 

 

nerds that aren’t smart

burns the white tarp

swords that touch heart

worms make bad art

nervous you might fart

Then we put them together:

Always on point with

words that cut sharp

,

I’m a paradox like

 

 

 

nerds that aren’t smart

 

Or we can rewrite a little, and include another multi

in there as well. Remember, it’s always a good idea to

revisit lines and rework them. Cut out the weak stuff,

and add more quality stuff.

I spit

swords that touch hearts and

words that

cut sharp

 

 

 

,

You’re living proof that some

 

 

nerds are not smart

Or we can rewrite a little, and include another multi

in there as well. Remember, it’s always a good idea to

revisit lines and rework them. Cut out the weak stuff,

and add more quality stuff.

I spit

swords that touch hearts and

words that

cut sharp

 

 

 

,

You’re living proof that some

 

 

nerds are not smart

Or we can rewrite a little, and include another multi

in there as well. Remember, it’s always a good idea to

revisit lines and rework them. Cut out the weak stuff,

and add more quality stuff.

But Slim, what if you win, wouldn’t it be weird?”
Why? So you guys could just lie to get me here?
So you can, sit me here next to Britney Spears?
Shit, Christina Aguilera better switch me chairs

Here’s what’s so dope and amazing about those “Real

He also uses a lot of

multies with the same rhyme pattern: 4 in 4 lines.

How did he do that? He probably wanted to write a

rhyme making fun of Britney Spears, so he started

with her name and started generating multies off of

it. He could have used others, but he found some that

matched what he was trying to say. The lesson: always

start with the word or phrase that is most important.

His palms are sweaty, knees weak, arms are heavy
There’s vomit on his sweater already, mom’s spaghetti
He’s nervous, but on the surface he looks calm and ready to drop bombs,
but he keeps on forgetting

Those “Lose Yourself” rhymes are some of Eminem’s

absolute best, and that’s saying a lot. What he does

here lyrically is all out amazing. He uses lots of multirhymes

He uses 8 lines of multies in just four lines, but he also

repeats the “palms” sound in other words. It’s echoed

in  on” ,” but also in “vomit” and “on his,”

which is itself a little multi.

 Study those lines, because they’re as

complex rhyme-wise as some analytic calculus.
SYLLABLE/RHYME MATCHING

Best read this shit, cos multis aint hard to learn
and anyone ya battle’ll walk away with heart burn

^see how “hard to learn” and “heart burn” dont match even though they rhyme? thats bad.

Best read this shit cos multis really aint heard to learn
anyone I battle, drop a verse n im leavin they heart to burn

^see how the syllables “matched” on that one??

..really aint hard to learn
..leavin they heart to burn

^thats a good syllable count… the multi doest have to be that long, but you get the idea.

slant rhyming is when words dont perfectly rhyme, but they still do.

Splitting
hit him
living
weapon
check em

About don't sweat the technique

my name is ronnie i love rhyming im a rhyme anlalyst i love hip hop i love everybody from makaveli to rakim if u like rhymes just hit me up on any of my messengers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

